Dr’s Appointment

So, on one of the most winter-y days of the winter, I had a doctors appointment.  I made the long, dangerous trek in the slippery storm, witnessed 3 cars facing improper directions while others tried to move past them, and got myself to the office.  I was worried about cancelling the appointment in case I was charged or the doc wouldn’t fill out the paperwork.

There is a LOT of paperwork with this process.  After getting 4 handouts at the information session, as well as filling out a 5 page questionnaire, my family doctor also had to fill out a 3 page questionnaire making sure my medical history was all included plus to be sure I understood the procedure and the long-term requirements of the surgery.  One stumbling block was the statement required for him to sign saying that he would be responsible for all future issues with my health – not a reasonable request if he is no longer my doctor at some point in the future.

Regarding the long-term commitments, these include taking multi-vitamins for the rest of my life, as well as calcium, as a body can become malnourished from the process.  That’s a bit of disconcerting thought…..  No carbonated drinks, nothing with high sugar or fat content.  I’m a bit sad to think I may never gulp down a big glass of ice cold water.  There is also the possibility of hair loss.  I went through that after my daughter was born, and did not enjoy that process!

The literature says my stomach will start out holding 2 ounces of food, then eventually settle at 4-6 ounces of food.  Wow!  What a difference that will be.  I always thought a stomach was the size of a fist, however, the info session described it more as the size of a football.  I can easily fill a football with food.  

For now, I have yet to make any changes to my diet or life.  This probably shows badly for my commitment to my health.  I guess I better think pretty seriously about doing this.  I have never made myself a priority in my life, everything else always came first.  After all these years, maybe it’s time to start taking care of me.

Leave a Reply

